Visit to Khewra salt mine

image

Hey, all set off to visit the salt mine. I was so excited as was going for the first time and that too along with my parents and siblings and definitely my family :). The estimated time we were considering it would take to be two hours drive from Saraye alamgir. But it took three hours because of poor road’s condition. The road was really rough, some of it was broken in patches and bumpy but was under construction. I wish our government should be really active to reconstruct it at its earliest. But the work speed there was not satisfactory. As its our tourist resort, so many people visit there on daily basis, but what to say? I think we ourselves want the foreigners to remember us by discussing the obstacles they faced initially.

Anyways after three hours of shaky and bumpy journey, I think I am exaggerating, just remembered, the road was smooth too for almost two hours drive but that one hour roughness dominated my mind, there were green fields across both sides of the road too, presenting really fresh meadows and then finally we reached there. I was so excited as its the second largest mine in the world. Bought entry tickets, and waited for train. But as the train reached, before we could go near it, a flock of people just rushed in it, bundling like they will not be able to reach in and should be moving in first. Oh my God…… that really looked hilarious. We waited for train for its next arrival. But AGAIN, oh I was unable to do this. Anyways decided to move in by walk ourelves.

image

We entered the tunnel.

image

It was really long tunnel enough for me as I was carrying my 3 month old. And can’t tell what I was feeling. The walls were haunting me. So many people were rushing inside. I was thinking continuesly what will happen if it gets closed due to land sliding or something, as on my way I saw some drilling work over the mountain. I was able to see the precipitates of salt on the side walls and above me as they were hanging down the so called roof. Anyways I hold my breath and dared No girl, come on, you can do it. I am still laughing on myself. Lolz…….. what was I upto 😂😂😂 all those scary movies in which people get locked inside in some natural adventure etc etc were knocking me again and again.
Annnnndddddd when the narrow tunnel ended in widened up lounge, that was totally different scenerio. There was a cafeteria inside, chairs tables all set. A lighted wonderful area making clear the precipitation and clear crystal salty bricks. That was wonderful.

image

image

image

They had given names to different areas inside. I will be showing you some snapshots right below

image

image

image

Minare Pakistan made of salt bricks….

image

image

Really beautiful salt crafts. I loved the lamps, bought them. Will show you pics what I bought.

image

Even they had crafted alphabets, names, different shapes particularly heart shapes etc etc…. Daters were buying them ;);) and gifting each other.

image

image

image

image

Well so much of the area was inside. Badshahi mosque replica was made inside, unable to snap everything. But it was amazing. Seen pools there, naturally made… On my way I noticed two points where stairs were moving outwards of mountain as for my escape point if something would happen lolz….

And after walking walking until my feet said enouph , I decided to come out. Then we started our back route. But yeah I spared two minutes to pray inside. As I have heard every place will testify that a person remembered the Creator there. So I did and felt much contended. I was extremely happy while coming out, as have seen such a marvellous creation and that for I am going out safely :).

Had lunch outside and set back. It was a wonderful visit. But a point I would like to mention is about that the place was amazing but can be improved in lots of more ways to enhance the looks of this grand salt mine, internally as well as externally. All during my way back I was wondering , what else the Creator would be hiding in these mountain ranges of which we are unaware yet. And how easily He is EXPLORABLE, but only if someone intend to. And lastly sharing the lamps I bought from there, as a reminder of this visit which I did on fifth of February 2016.

Yeah…….

image

:):)……

Leave a Reply

